Media Advisory | Mar. 17, 2011

UBC experts available to comment on World Water Day

As World Water Day approaches on March 22, UBC experts are available to comment on pressing global issues related to water, including:

  • Water quality and conservation
  • Water use and consumption
  • Water security and politics
  • Privatization and pricing
  • Climate change implications
  • Glaciology and hydrology

Assoc. Prof. Karen Bakker, Dept. of Geography
Canada Research Chair in Political Ecology
Director, Program on Water Governance
Tel: 604.822.2663
Email: karen.bakker@ubc.ca
Website: www.watergovernance.ca

Prof. Madjid Mohseni, Dept. of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Tel: 604.822.0047
Email: mmohseni@chbe.ubc.ca

Prof. Don Mavinic, Dept. of Civil Engineering
Tel: 602.822.4752
Email: dsm@civil.ubc.ca

  • Developed technology that turns wastewater into valuable fertilizer; studies water treatment, water quality and management: http://bit.ly/cp8VhX

Asst. Prof. Pierre Bérubé, Dept. of Civil Engineering
Tel: 604.822.5665
Email: berube@civil.ubc.ca

Prof. Garry Clarke, Dept. of Earth and Ocean Sciences
Tel. 604.822.3602
Email: clarke@eos.ubc.ca

  • The future of glaciers in western North America, their relationship to the water cycle, the consequences of shrinking glaciers, computer simulations

Prof. Dan Moore
Depts. of Geography and Forest Resources Management
Phone: 604.822.3538
Email: rdmoore@geog.ubc.ca

  • Glaciers, climate change, forest cover changes and their influences on streamflow

Raul Pacheco-Vega, PhD, Sessional Instructor
Dept. of Political Science
Email: pachecoh@interchange.ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-2048 (contact via Public Affairs)
Web: http://www.politics.ubc.ca/index.php?id=12810
Blog: http://www.raulpacheco.org
Twitter: @raulpacheco

  • Water governance (including waste water), cross-border water conflicts, the relationship between water and energy, perceptions of drinking water

Assoc. Prof. Deborah Roberts
School of Engineering, Okanagan campus
Tel: 250.807.8722
Email: deborah.roberts@ubc.ca

Asst. Prof. Mina Hoorfar, School of Engineering, Okanagan campus
Tel: 250.807.8804
mina.hoorfar@ubc.ca

Assoc. Prof. Younes Alila, Faculty of Forestry
Tel: 604.822.6058
Email: Alila@interchange.ubc.ca

  • Land use effects on hydrology, forests and floods, climate change and variability effects on hydrology, hydrology and watershed management

Nancy Knight (Available March 17-18)
UBC Campus and Community Planning
Phone: 604 827-3171 
Email: nancy.knight@ubc.ca

  • Canada’s largest university water reduction project, which reduced water use in UBC academic buildings by 30 per cent and helped reduce annual energy costs by $2.6 million

-30-

Related topics: , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604.822.2048
Email: basil.waugh@ubc.ca
mr-11-035

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia