Media Advisory | Sep. 18, 2012

UBC experts for Statistics Canada census on Canadian families and living arrangements

On Sept. 19, Statistics Canada will release their 2011 census report, which describes how families and living arrangements have changed in Canada over the last decade. UBC experts are available to comment on the report, which will be available at www.statcan.gc.ca at 8:30 a.m. EST.

Mary Ann Murphy
School of Social Work
Tel: 250.807.8705
Email: mary-ann.murphy@ubc.ca

  • Diversity in the Canadian family
  • Current and future demographic family trends
  • Marriage, divorce, cohabitation
  • Motherhood, fertility and reproductive statistics
  • The emerging role of single fathers and extended family caregivers

Carrie Yodanis
Dept. of Sociology
Email: carrie.yodanis@ubc.ca

  • The rise of common law relationships
  • Families and marriage
  • Gender and inequality

Paul Kershaw
Human Early Learning Partnership
Tel: 604.761.4583
Email: paul.kershaw@ubc.ca

  • Issues facing Canadian families
  • Impact of household incomes and house prices on young families
  • Economic issues, quality of life, work-life balance, child-care

Nathanael Lauster
Dept. of Sociology
Email: nlauster@mail.ubc.ca

  • Families and children/ childbearing trends
  • Housing
  • Urban studies
  • Demography and statistics

-30-

Related topics: , , , , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604.822.2048
Email: basil.waugh@ubc.ca

Heather Amos
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604.822.3213
Cell: 604.828.3867
E-mail: heather.amos@ubc.ca

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia