Media Release | Oct. 30, 2012

UBC experts comment on Nov. 6 U.S. election

As the U.S. election approaches, UBC’s experts on American politics, the election and campaign issues are available for commentary.

Richard Johnston
Canada Research Chair in Public Opinion, Elections, and Representation
Office: 604.822.5456
Email: richard.johnston@ubc.ca

  • Conducted the largest study of U.S. voters (2000, 2008)

“The best polls available suggest the Republicans are likely to win the House, Obama is still most likely to win the presidency, and the Senate is up for grabs,” Johnston told UBC Reports. “So this is likely to be another inconclusive election. The political system will remain divided and neither side will get to do what it wants.” 

Paul Quirk
Phil Lind Chair in U.S. Politics and Representation
Office: 604.822.2230
Email: quirk@politics.ubc.ca

“One issue to watch is the Republicans’ effort to change voting regulations in some states, particular swing states, Quirk told UBC Reports. “If successful, this could result in voter suppression among African-Americans and lower-income voters.”

Andrew Owen
Dept. of Political Science
Office: 604.822.4550
Email: andrew.owen@ubc.ca

  • How citizens choose candidates
  • Impact of economy, debates and advertising on voters

“The real action in the campaign’s closing days will be the so-called ‘ground war’ in swing states,” said Owen. “Parties will focus resources on getting supporters to the polls and trying to persuade the small number of undecided voters.”

Bruce Baum
Dept. Political Science
Office: 604.822.2490
Email: bbaum@politics.ubc.ca

  • Race, racism and U.S. politics

“Conservative responses to Obama are mediated — sometimes unconsciously — by the legacy of racism in the U.S.,” wrote Baum in the New York Times. 

Yves Tiberghien
Institute of Asian Research
Office: 604.822.4358
Email: yves.tiberghien@ubc.ca

  • U.S. foreign policy, particularly in Asia

“If Romney is elected and doesn’t back down from his promise of declaring China a currency manipulator, we could be looking at a major trade war and potential financial Armageddon,” Tiberghien told UBC Reports. “If China stops buying U.S. bonds, it would trigger a U.S. deficit crisis, and a massive global financial crisis.”

 

-30-

Related topics: , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604-822-2048
basil.waugh@ubc.ca

Heather Amos
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604-822-3213
heather.amos@ubc.ca

mr-12-192

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia