Media Release | Nov. 5, 2012

UBC experts comment on China’s leadership changes

On Nov. 8 – just days after the U.S. election – China will hold its 18th National Party Congress, a week of high-level meetings that will culminate with new leadership for the superpower. UBC Asia scholars are available to preview the event and discuss its outcomes.

Yves Tiberghien
UBC Institute of Asian Research
Cell: 604.379.1755
Email: yves.tiberghien@ubc.ca (in China from Nov. 7-11)

  • China and the world
  • Read analysis of China’s expected new leaders here.

“The 18th Congress will mark one of China’s most significant leadership changes since the 1949 Chinese Revolution,” Tiberghien told UBC Reports. “China will choose a new direction – and it will impact foreign policy, the economy, energy, education: everything.”

Pitman Potter
UBC’s HSBC Chair in Asian Research
Tel: 604.822.5653
E-mail: potter@law.ubc.ca

  • Chinese politics and law
  • International trade and investment law
  • Human rights

“Revelations of premier Wen Jiabao’s hidden wealth and the downfall of Bo Xilai have created a legitimacy problem for China’s government,” Potter told the Globe and Mail. “Expect some form of clean-government campaign coming from Congress targeting this issue.”

Timothy Cheek
UBC Centre for Chinese Research
Email: tcheek@exchange.ubc.ca (in China from Nov. 7-16)

  • Chinese society

“A top priority will be to maintain economic growth while quelling potential social unrest,” Cheek told UBC Reports. “In 2010, China experienced more than 100,000 public demonstrations against corruption, working conditions, pollution and land expropriation.”

Keith Head
Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604-822-8492
Email: keith.head@sauder.ubc.ca

  • International trade and business
  • The economies of China, Canada and the U.S.

Amy Hanser
UBC Dept. of Sociology
Tel. 604.827.3135
Email: hanser@mail.ubc.ca

  • Social issues in China
  • Inequality

Diana Lary
UBC Dept. of History
Tel: 604.876.7766
Email: lary@mail.ubc.ca

  • Chinese history
Tsering Shakya
UBC Institute of Asian Research
Tel: 604.822.2968

Subscribe to UBC’s Asia-Pacific Memo – China only, featuring videos, interviews and essays by leading China scholars, at: http://www.asiapacificmemo.ca/category/china.

-30-

Related topics: , , , , , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604-822-2048
basil.waugh@ubc.ca

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia