Media Advisory | Nov. 23, 2012

UBC experts for comment on Doha climate conference

UBC experts are available for media analysis on issues from climate science to policy negotiations at the upcoming United Nations’ Climate Change Conference in Doha, Qatar (Nov. 26-Dec. 7).

Simon Donner
UBC Dept. of Geography
Cell: 604.561.7284
Email: simon.donner@geog.ubc.ca
Twitter: @simondonner

Kathryn Harrison
Dept. of Political Science
Cell: 778.968.4923
Email: harrison@politics.ubc.ca

  • Environmental laws and policy (Canada, U.S., Australia)
  • The politics of carbon pricing

James Tansey
UBC Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604.827.4443
Email: james.tansey@sauder.ubc.ca

  • Implications of conference ideas
  • Carbon markets, clean technology and green business
  • Food security and genetically modified food

George Hoberg
Dept. of Political Science and Faculty of Forestry
Tel.: 604.822.3728
Email: george.hoberg@ubc.ca
Twitter: @ghoberg

  • U.S. and Canadian environmental policies
  • UN decision-making processes and barriers to consensus
  • Climate politics and challenges

Benjamin Richardson
Canada Research Chair in Environmental Law & Sustainability
UBC Faculty of Law
Tel: 604.827.4823
Email: richardson@law.ubc.ca

  • Legal, business and policy issues

Andreas Christen
UBC Dept. of Geography, Atmospheric Science program
Tel: 604.822.6620
E-mail: andreas.christen@ubc.ca

  • Climate change and environmental science
  • Cities and sustainable development
  • Greenhouse gas emission monitoring

Michael Brauer
UBC School of Population and Public Health
Tel: 604.822.9585
Email: michael.brauer@ubc.ca

  • Health issues related to cities and energy (air quality, pollution, physical activity and transportation)
  • Linkage between climate change and human health

Patrick Condon
UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
James Taylor Chair in Landscape and Liveable Environments
Tel: 604.822.9291
Email: p.m.condon@gmail.com

  • Relationship between cities, climate change and the environment
  • Author of The Seven Rules for Sustainable Communities

Stephen Sheppard
UBC Collaborative for Advanced Landscape Planning
Tel: 604.822.6582
Email: Stephen.Sheppard@ubc.ca

Jack Saddler
Faculty of Forestry, Forest Products Biotechnology
Phone: 604.822.9741
Email: jack.saddler@ubc.ca

  • Major changes in global energy markets – producers and demand:
    • U.S. to become exporter of energy (natural gas) in the next 20 years and energy self-sufficient by 2035
    • North America to become major oil exporter
  • International Energy Agency’s World Energy Outlook
  • Role of biofuels in the future

Sarah Burch, Banting Postdoctoral Fellow in Sustainability Governance
Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability
Phone: 604.827.3822
Email: sburch@exchange.ubc.ca (best contact method)
Twitter: @sarahlynnburch

  • Environmental governance and sustainability transitions
  • Climate change mitigation and adaptation in cities
  • Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Visit the UBC newsroom for updates to this list: www.ubc.ca/news. Learn more about sustainability at UBC: www.sustain.ubc.ca.

-30-

Related topics: , , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
604.822.2048
Basil.waugh@ubc.ca

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia