Media Advisory | Dec. 7, 2012

UBC experts available to comment on Enbridge, Keystone and Kinder Morgan pipeline debates

UBC researchers can provide expert commentary on three proposed pipeline projects that would carry Alberta bitumen to U.S. and foreign markets. Next week the Joint Review Panel of the National Energy Board re-opens hearings for the proposed Enbridge Northern Gateway pipeline.

Michael Byers
Canada Research Chair in Global Politics and International Law
Cell: 250.526.3001
Email: michael.byers@ubc.ca
Web: http://byers.typepad.com/

  • International dimensions of the pipeline issue (Canada’s relationships with China and the U.S.)
  • Environmental dimensions of the pipeline issue (oil tanker traffic and the climate change impact of producing and exporting bitumen)

Gordon Christie
Faculty of Law
Cell: 778.986.2977
E-mail: christie@law.ubc.ca

  • The abilities of Aboriginal communities to use Canadian law to advance their interests

David Farrell
Sauder School of Business – Transportation and Logistics
Cell: 604.312.4142
Email: david.farrell@sauder.ubc.ca

  • Pipeline operations and logistics

Kathryn Harrison
Dept. of Political Science
Cell 778.968.4923
Email: harrison@politics.ubc.ca
Web: www.politics.ubc.ca/about-us/faculty-members/bfont-color-blue-full-time-facultyfontb/kathryn-harrison.html

  • Climate politics and policy issues
  • Federalism, federal-provincial relations
  • Enbridge and Kinder Morgan pipelines
  • Coal and liquefied natural gas exports

Keith Head
Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604 822-8492
Email: keith.head@sauder.ubc.ca

  • Diversifying export destinations
  • Pipelines and what they mean for Canada’s trade relationships
  • Avoiding stockpiling oil/bitumen and driving down crude oil prices

George Hoberg
Faculty of Forestry
Tel: 604.822.3728
Email: george.hoberg@ubc.ca
Twitter: @ghoberg
Blog: http://greenpolicyprof.org/wordpress/

  • Comparative analysis of Keystone XL, Enbridge and Kinder Morgan pipelines
  • Energy and environmental policy
  • Aboriginal and environmental concerns, governance
  • Founder of UBCC350 – a UBC group dedicated to using political action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions especially from coal and tar sands pipelines.

Richard Johnston
Dept. of Political Science
Canada Research Chair in Public Opinion, Elections, and Representation
Tel. 604.822.5456    Cell 778.387.3425
Email: rjohnston@politics.ubc.ca 
Web: www.politics.ubc.ca/about-us/faculty-members/bfont-color-blue-full-time-facultyfontb/richard-johnston.html

  • Electoral implications
  • Congress-President dynamic

Jack Saddler
Faculty of Forestry
Phone: 604.822.9741
Email: jack.saddler@ubc.ca

  • Global energy markets
  • How the U.S. will become an exporter of natural gas in the next 20 years and energy self-sufficient by 2035
  • How North America will become a major oil exporter
  • International Energy Agency’s World Energy Outlook

James Tansey
Sauder School of Business
Cell: 604.562.4546
Tel: 604.827.4443
Email: james.tansey@sauder.ubc.ca
Web: http://www.sauder.ubc.ca/Faculty/People/Faculty_Members/Tansey_James

  • Environmental considerations
  • Aboriginal concerns and economic impact
  • Climate policy
  • Carbon offsets and markets

Visit the UBC newsroom for updates to this list at: www.ubc.ca/news.

-30-

Related topics: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Heather Amos
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604.822.3213
Email: heather.amos@ubc.ca

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
604.822.2048
Email: basil.waugh@ubc.ca

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia