Media Advisory | Apr. 15, 2013

UBC experts for B.C. election

From politics to pipelines, UBC experts are available to comment on the upcoming 2013 B.C. election campaign.

POLITICS

Max Cameron
UBC Dept. of Political Science
Centre for the Study of Democratic Institutions
Tel: 604.738.1915
Email: Max.Cameron@ubc.ca

  • Democratic issues, political dynamics, negative ads

Richard Johnston
UBC Dept. of Political Science
Canada Research Chair in Public Opinion, Elections, and Representation
Cell: 778.387.3425
Tel: 604.822.5456
Email: rjohnston@politics.ubc.ca

  • Public opinion, elections, general political issues
  • Find your political match with B.C.’s first provincial Vote Compass 

Kathryn Harrison
UBC Dept. of Political Science
Cell: 778.968.4923
Email: harrison@politics.ubc.ca

  • Carbon tax, environmental issues 

Andrew Owen
UBC Dept. of Political Science
Cell: 778.938.2468
Email: andrew.owen@ubc.ca

  • How citizens choose candidates
  • Impact of economy, debates and advertising on voters 

Gerald Baier
UBC Dept. of Political Science
Tel: 604.827.5560
Email: gerald.baier@ubc.ca


BUSINESS AND THE ECONOMY

Werner Antweiler (unavailable April 16-28)
UBC Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604.822.8484
Email: werner.antweiler@sauder.ubc.ca

Tsur Somerville
UBC Sauder School of BusinessEmail: tsur.somerville@sauder.ubc.ca

James Brander
UBC Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604.822.8483
Email: brander@sauder.ubc.ca

  • Business, trade and the economy

Kevin Milligan
UBC’s Vancouver School of Economics
Email: Kevin.milligan@ubc.ca (email to arrange interviews)
Twitter: @kevinmilligan

  • Economic policy, taxes, pensions 

Craig Riddell
UBC’s Vancouver School of Economics
Tel: 604.822.2106
Email: riddell@econ.ubc.ca

  • Labour policy, including jobs, immigration, education, training, unemployment

Paul Kershaw
UBC Human Early Learning Partnership
Cell: 604.761.4583
Email: paul.kershaw@ubc.ca

  • B.C. families and the economy


HEALTH

Kimberlyn McGrail
Centre for Health Services and Policy Research (CHSPR)
UBC School of Population and Public Health
Cell: 778.998.3821
Email: kmcgrail@chspr.ubc.ca

  • Health care policy; aging and health care services usage, health care financing

Michael Law
Centre for Health Services and Policy Research (CHSPR)
UBC School of Population and Public Health
Tel: 604.822.3534
Email: mlaw@chspr.ubc.ca

  • Pharmaceutical policy


PIPELINES

George Hoberg
UBC Dept. of Forest Resources Management
Tel: 604.822.3728
Email: george.hoberg@ubc.ca
Twitter: @ghoberg


EDUCATION

Michelle StackFaculty of Education
Tel: 604 822-9101
Email: michelle.stack@ubc.ca

Charles Ungerleider
Faculty of Education
Email: charles.ungerleider@ubc.ca

For regular updates on B.C. Election-themed experts and events, visit www.ubc.ca/news and follow @UBCnews.

 

-30-

Related topics: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share This

Contact

Basil Waugh
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604-822-2048
basil.waugh@ubc.ca

Heather Amos
UBC Public Affairs
Tel: 604-822-3213
heather.amos@ubc.ca

mr-13-063

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.822.3131
Fax: 604.822.2684
E-mail: public.affairs@ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia